Attaching and Deleting Files

Content

  • Introduction
  • Working with Attachable Files in extendedReach
  • Attaching Files Using the Paperclip Icon
  • Deleting Files Using the Trashcan Icon

Introduction

This article is meant to assist you with attaching files to a Case or Home using the Paperclip Icon, and deleting files from a Case or Home. 
If you have a question not addressed here, you can search at the bottom of this article in Related Articles or contact support at support@extendedreach.com. 

Working with Attachable Files in extendedReach

extendedReach has a ability to attach PDF, Microsoft Excel and photo files from your PC’s desktop to a Case or Home in extendedReach.

This feature is possible due to a piece of software called the “extendedReach Plug-In” (“eR Plugin”), which must be installed on your computer. The eR Software System will automatically notify you if you need to download the eR Plug-In. For instructions on Installing the eR Plug-In, click here.

Attaching Files using the Paperclip Icon

Go to the activity or report that you want to upload an attachment to. Make sure you are in “Edit Mode” by clicking on “Edit” at the top of the screen.

Note: if you do not see a "Related Documents" section, please contact your agency administrator as they will be able to add that section for you. 

Image: “Edit Mode”

Click on the Paper Clip Icon.

Image: “Attaching Files”

Select the file you wish to attach from your agency’s user documents, by double-clicking on the file. You can also drag and drop files into this view.  Once you see the “New” file in extendedReach, click on Save to ensure the upload was successful. 

Image: “Attach File”

Deleting Files Using the Trashcan Icon

If you have accidentally uploaded the wrong file, or simply need to delete a file you no longer want, select the attachment you wish to delete, by clicking on it once then click on the trash can icon. The file will then say "Deleted" on it. 

To undo a "Delete", simply click on where the file says "Deleted" then click on the trash can icon to revert the deletion. 

To ensure that the attachment gets deleted, click on the Save button. 

Image: “Deleting Files”

Be sure to click the “Trash Can” icon and not the “Delete” button on the top menu. The Delete button on the top menu will delete the entire record from the database instead of just deleting the file attachment. If the entire record is deleted, click here to learn how to restore it. 

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us